Can Dhamma be heresy?

If I’d be asked: “Dost thou believe in god, a creator?”,
I’d say to him: For you it might be odd, I’m not a traitor,
but with surety I can only say:
A god that dost create, be he imagined or be he real,
if his creations skill display,
I not abhor, nor will I reel;
And if his creations reach some excellence greater than mine own,
he shall deserve my reverence and sure deserves renown.
But, he who rashly hopes destruction of another one’s construction,
for himself is an obstruction.
I pray: may no one heed such one’s instruction.

Furthermore, I’d be tempted saying:
“Didst I myself not have created this body of my own;
by words, by thoughts, and too by deeds, done in days bygone?”
“Tis not that I desired: “May I be human yet again”
and then a body sprouted, in mother’s belly’s den?
‘And tis not this body also, in truth, a world itself?,
peopled with a myriad lives, to each other husbands, wives,
but to me not more than cells?
And if that be admitted,
am I then not myself a god,
towards those beings that have found in me,
the host to all their lot?

Leave a comment